Picture
I will say that there is a very diverse group of parents of these players that could possibly go in the MLB Amateur draft.  For example, one call may be a pleasant call with a father of a prospect who actually played professionally.  Another call may be with a mother who never played sports, single, and has no clue what their son may be entering into once they get drafted.  The father who has professional experience can be an easy conversation since they know that nothing is guaranteed in professional sports and just want to make sure their son receives the best contract possible.  This father understands the process and is not looking for a handout or is expecting you to take their son for every penny they have.  The mother who has no experience with this process and is very difficult and can a few different ways.  One way that would be the best for me is a mother that is humble and wants to make sure I am solid with my word to help her son through this process and further.  The other way, which can be difficult, is the mother that thinks their son is going to be a millionaire and only asks how I am going to get their son more money than is they were to win the lottery.  I learned the hard way on how to handle these conversations and stay on the path of getting a meeting with their son.  If you want more experiences with this topic, feel free to email me because and I will be happy to share with you.

            My first day of phone calls, I was able to confirm a meeting with a player and his mom in Los Angeles, CA.  This player just came onto the prospect scene and there were not a lot of other agencies contacting him yet.  I notified Ryan of the meeting and we were set to meet with these people later in the week.  One of the most important aspects of having a successful phone call with a prospect is to sound like I have been doing this job for years and that the reason we were calling them was because there was justification that they were going to get drafted high and be offered a substantial amount of money. Questions about if scouts have contacted me about them or was something said about them on where they were projected to go in the draft were very common.  I will follow up on this meeting and few others after they have concluded.  So stay tuned to hear more.  




Leave a Reply.