Picture
My final thoughts on my first ever draft as part of an agency is that it is an exhausting process.  There were a ton of ups-and-downs in a three day period that I think my head was close to spinning.  At one moment you had the dreams of your players coming true, and the next it is far from happening.  You have a large offer on the table one minute only to have it reduced the next.  I am not sure what to think, but I know that I agree with the fact of leaving the player out of the communication during the draft just based on the notion of not causing added stress to their lives.  It would be a difficult task to have your career at stake while having to answer well over a hundred text messages from scouts telling you that you are worth this amount and then retracting that statement and wondering if less money should be taken so the opportunity is not lost.  I am appreciative of 7 Sports Group educating their prospects on why they should not get involved with the draft conversations. I will say that MLB scouts and GM’s do not care as much for the player as they say they are. The speed in which money was offered and taken away was astonishing.  I think I would lose years off my life each year I was involved in the draft.  The toughest part now is that the draft is over and now the negotiating starts.  From what I hear, these scouts want to meet with the player right now in order to try and get them signed.  Plus, they are expected to try and negotiate a lower bonus offer than what was stated during the draft.  So, not only will try to get you to agree to a lower offer, but they will still try and lower that offer even after they have drafted you.  Congratulations on being drafted, but I need you to take less money.  Really??





Leave a Reply.