Picture
The good thing for me was that every player I watched play showed good potential for being able to mature their talent and make the necessary adjustments to succeed at the professional level.  My tasks for watching these games were to evaluate the prospects on the list and to speak with them after the game.  I spoke about cold calling being a difficult task in an earlier post, but meeting a player for the first without any introduction after a game beats cold calling any day.  Another good thing was that one game was a high school game and the other three were college games.  High school games are more difficult to talk with players after a game since most of the time at least one parent is present more often.  So instead of meeting with only the player, I have to be able to sell myself to the player and the parent within the first five minutes in order to gain any chance of setting up a meeting.  The goal for any agent is to get a face-to-face meeting as often as possible.  This will help with keeping your name or agency in their heads more than the others.  Meeting with college players is a little easier since they are a little more experienced with the process and understand what an agents purpose is.  Plus, they have more time after games than high school players do which gives me more time to get to know them. 





Leave a Reply.