Picture
I have spent over a year in the classroom learning everything possible about the Sports Management world.  The first week of a job you would think there will be a lot of sitting and listening about the expectations management has for you.  One can expect to be instructed on what management expects of you during your time there along with a list of your duties and responsibilities.  Well, this was not the case for me and the first week at 7 Sports Group and my mentorship program. May is a busy month leading up to the Major League Baseball (MLB) June amateur draft for most baseball agencies.  This is the last month to recruit players that are thought to be drafted and you are making one last ditch effort to sign them.  Meetings, phone calls, emails, Facebook, Twitter, more phone calls, and driving to as many games as possible in order to increase your chances of signing a player in the draft. 

I was instructed the first day that I would be traveling a lot to meet with players and watch games to evaluate certain players on a list provided by the agency.  The first week would be a “learning on the job” style of teaching.  I learned the true meaning of time is money and being in the office during this time of year means you were not working to make money.  The main job duty I had was to assist the agency in building their baseball representative portfolio since they were just beginning to venture out into this industry.  My professional baseball experience was the main purpose of my mentorship and to utilization my skill to evaluate and relate to other baseball players.  





Leave a Reply.